IMG_7366I’m posting this from my home in Vermont, in a town that, while small, dwarfs Bussy-la-Pesle and its 60 inhabitants. I’ve said my goodbyes to the château, to the beautiful little villages of Burgundy, to croissants and baguettes and wine, and to all the people who made the past three months such an incredible experience. I hope to go back, of course, although when that will be will depend on what real life brings. But whether it’s in a few months or a few years, France is very much a part of me now.

Even though my stint in France has come to an end, this blog has not. My posts were few and far between in the later half of my visit. As my French improved I spent more time speaking and less time writing, and the blog suffered as a result. But now, back at home with no stone to cut, I’ve got much more time on my hands. So in the coming days I’ll be posting a few more things that I never got around to writing about while I was in France: reflections on learning the language, the natural history of the fields and forests around Bussy-la-Pesle, the architecture of the château, and more. So check back soon!

But first, a few thanks-yous:

To Quico, Martine, and all the other inhabitants of Bussy-la-Pesle who welcomed me so warmly into your beautiful little village.

To Guy Lachot, for painting guidance, great conversation, and an awesome quad.

To Brigitte Colas, for immersing me in the history of the region.

To Laura, Jose, and Turner, for a bit of ‘Murica.

To Jean-Claude and the two Stephanes for all of the wonderful conversations and your patience with my broken French.

To Xavier, for introducing me to pastis, teaching me how to make lapin au moutarde, and being such an enjoyable companion and friend.

To Caroline, who makes the most wonderful purring neckwarmer. Sorry we didn’t notice that you’re actually a guy a little bit sooner.

To the centuries of masons, carpenters, and architects who have left their mark on Château Bussy-la-Pesle. I am in awe of your work and it was an honor to join your ranks.

And above all, to the Laurenty family, who have been the most wonderful hosts I could have asked for. I can’t tell you how much these past three months have meant to me, and they could never have happened without your generosity, encouragement, and friendship.

Merci beaucoup!

Au revoir, France. A la prochaine!